5 Habits Significantly Changed My Life in My 20s

Anri
4 min readJun 10, 2020

1. Cleaning My Room

How often do you clean your room? I clean my room at least once a month, organizing sections at a time. For example, if I organized my closet this month, I would focus on cleaning around my desk and shelf next month.

When I first moved to the USA I only had one carry case and backpack. After a year passed, I owned a full set of new clothes. When organizing my closet, I would often find old clothes that I didn’t wear anymore and would donate them to thrift stores. Realizing the large number of clothes wasted each month made me realize how much money and resources I wasted each month. Most of these clothes were due to fast fashion or became damaged after washing over and over. Being aware of what you own affects and alters ones spending habits.

2. Organizing Contacts & Apps on My Phone

As time goes by the people you surround yourself with continuously changes as you grow up. For instance, on Social Media I often unfollow people who I once had some connection with in the past, whether it was because we went to the same school or we exchanged info at events, but have since then lost connection with them. Reviewing and deleting old text messages and group chats also makes me feel better since I do not really look back those messages anymore and helps me clear up some…

--

--

Anri

I’m originally from Japan, a college student, and currently living in San Diego.